Google Adsense Matched Contenet

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tackling Creationists

My pet peeve is creationists. I work as a science lecturer in a fundamentalist christian area of the world, so I'm learning a lot about how they think, but I have to admit, it's a steep learning curve. I would like to bounce ideas off people here about how to tackle this issue with them, based on what they think. Since I met my first creationist only about five years ago for the first time, I don't know nearly as much about them as some of you do, so I hope you can help me out. I will come back to this thread and sort out some of my ideas when I have a chance, but I welcome contribution from others on the issue, Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Mainly, the issue I'm trying to address, is whether I can easily explain macroevolution, which is a creationist term for changing "type", which is another creationist term for what biologists would refer to as speciation followed by a change in morphological phenotype until the new organism does not resemble the original (does not have the same "type"). This means I have to see if there is an actual definition of "type".

Creationists tend to by and large accept what they like to call "microevolution", which is change in trait frequency within a population due to natural selection. So that is my start point - I will accept that the smart ones actually allow for natural selection within species, but don't understand speciation. To address speciation, I'm going to look at papers from the following groups plus others:

Singh R, Jagadeeshan S, Grillet M, Everaerts C, Houot B, Richie MG, Cobb M, Ferveur JF, Noor MAF, Grams KL, Bertucci LA, Reiland J, Coyne J

I have to get updated though, because I'm a few years behind. This is not my area of science.
    Last edited by Lucy Evans; 12-22-2016, 01:13 AM.

Comment

• zirgs
      zirgs commented
      Editing a comment